The Superheroes of the OCCRC

The Superheroes of the OCCRC

Batman of Orléans is the attraction in the community since the COVID-19 crisis started. Families are arranging a visit of the superhero for their young children that are unable to go to school or even outside. Instead of spreading COVID-19, Batman is spreading the joy and smiles from houses to houses in Orléans.

The saying is not all heroes wear capes and the OCCRC agrees. In time of crisis, each establishment has their own views of heroes depending on their needs. For the Centre, their superheroes are people in the community reaching out to see how they may help, their donors, community organizations, local businesses, volunteers and staff.

Another example of hero’s is this couple in their 80’s. They are long time donors of the OCCRC. They quickly reached out wanting to contribute during this difficult time. They did not know how to help the Centre because they could not expose themselves. Even if they are self-isolating to protect their health, the couple is going for daily walks in various neighbourhood and they decided to drop off Centre flyers requesting donations in people mailbox while they walk. They want to promote the services offered and encourage others to donate.

“I am very fortunate to be able to work in a supportive community like Orléans. The local community donors have been reaching out to see how they can contribute. All contributions made via our website goes a long way for the Centre. Local groceries stores are also making a significant contribution for our urgent needs. The staff and volunteers were ready to take on the challenge to completely modify the services at the food bank in 48 hours. A lot of logistics were involved in making this happen in a short period of time while respecting the Ottawa Public Health guidelines. For our Centre, each of these people are superheroes. Without them, we would not be able to continue serving our community.” Luc Ouellette, Executive Director of the Centre.

Share:

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on email
Email

Les superhéros du CRCOC

Depuis que la crise du COVID-19 a commencé, Batman d’Orléans est le centre d’attention de la communauté. Les familles organisent une visite du superhéros pour leurs enfants qui ne peuvent pas aller à l’école ou sortir dehors. À la place de transmettre la COVID-19, Batman propage la joie et les sourires de maisons en maisons à Orléans.

Le dicton est que pas tous les héros portent des capes et le CRCOC est en accord. En temps de crise chaque établissement à sa propre vision de leurs héros basée sur leurs besoins. Pour le Centre, leurs superhéros sont les membres de la communauté qui demandent comment ils peuvent aider, leurs donateurs, les associations communautaires, les entreprises locales, les bénévoles et leurs employés.

Un autre exemple d’héro est un couple âgé de 80 ans, fidèle donateurs du Centre qui souhaitent contribuer davantage pendant cette période difficile. En auto-isolement, le couple ne savait pas trop comment appuyer le Centre sans mettre leur santé à risque. Malgré leur auto-isolement, le couple continue d’aller se promener quotidiennement dans différents quartiers et ils ont décidés de déposer des dépliants du Centre dans les boites aux lettres lors de leurs marches. Ils tiennent à promouvoir les services offerts et encourage les gens à faire des dons à leur tour.

 « J’ai beaucoup de chance de pouvoir travailler dans une communauté solidaire comme Orléans. Les donateurs continuent de nous tendre la main pour connaitre nos besoins. Tous les dons, nous aide beaucoup. Les épiceries font des dons importants pour appuyer nos besoins urgents. Les employés et les bénévoles ont relevé le défi de modifier complètement les services de la banque alimentaire en 48 heures. Il y avait beaucoup de logistiques afin d’assurer que cela se produisent en si peu de temps et en respectant les consignes de Santé publique Ottawa. Pour notre Centre, chacune de ces personnes sont des superhéros. Sans eux nous ne serions pas en mesure de continuer de servir notre communauté. » Luc Ouellette, directeur général du Centre.

Partager:

Partager sur facebook
Facebook
Partager sur twitter
Twitter
Partager sur linkedin
LinkedIn
Partager sur pinterest
Pinterest
Partager sur email
Courriel